IRA Custodians are regulated financial institutions who meet specific banking criteria outlined in IRC Section 408. Third party administrators are not regulated but can serve as a customer service office between you and your IRA custodian. While there are thousands of IRA custodians and TPA’s around the country, most of them are not designed to allow checkbook IRA control.

It is a conflict of interest for self directed IRA custodians to offer their own products i.e. C.Ds, IRA LLCs, legal/tax/investment advice, etc…  The following is a list of self directed IRA custodians who are free from conflicting interests and are in a position to serve for administrative and compliance purposes only.

The fees associated with your self directed IRA custodian are limited under an IRA LLC vehicle because all of the investments and transactions are handled through the limited liability company, not the IRA custodian.

Custodian Phone Website
Bank of Utah (877) 268-9327 https://www.bankofutah.com/
Central Bank of Utah (801) 375-1000 https://www.centralbankutah.com/
Community National Bank (800) 680-0340 http://www.cnbservice.net/
First Midwest Bank (800) 322-3623 https://www.firstmidwest.com/
Horizon Trust Company (888) 205-6036 http://www.horizontrust.com/
IRA Services Trust (800) 248-8447 https://www.iraservicestrust.com/
Kingdom Trust Company (888) 753-6972 https://www.kingdomtrust.com/
Liberty Trust Company (800) 473-1977 http://www.libertytrustco.com/
Madison Trust Company (800) 721-4900 https://www.madisontrust.com/
Mainstar Trust Compan (800) 521-9897 https://www.mainstartrust.com/
Nevada Trust Company (702) 696-0000 http://www.nevadatrust.com/
Pensco Trust Company (866) 818-4472 https://www.pensco.com/
Preferred Trust Company (888) 990-7892 https://preferredtrustcompany.com/
Provident Trust Group (888) 855-9856 https://trustprovident.com/
Summit Trust (800) 822-6711 https://www.summittrust.com/
Sunwest Trust (800) 642-7167 https://www.sunwesttrust.com/

Have a question about which self directed IRA custodian is right for you? We’re here to help.

Simply fill out the form below or call 866-241-9884 to schedule a consultation.